Our history
The Indian Association of Medical Microbiologists – Delhi Chapter came into existence in the year 1977. However, very ambiguous information is available for the period till 1993.

Dr N. P. Gupta and Dr D. S. Agarwal were among the key pioneers who took upon themselves to resurrect the chapter and get it afoot. Heads of the Microbiology Departments of the teaching institutes congregated for a conference which was held under the chairmanship and tutelage of Dr N. P. Gupta on 24th February 1993. This gathering was attended by the esteemed practitioners Dr N. P. Gupta, Dr D. S. Agarwal, Dr Ramesh Kumar, Dr Anandita Mandal and Dr Vibha Talwar. The endeavour of the meeting was to propose a plan of action for the restoration of the Delhi Chapter of IAMM.

The first chapter meet was held at G.B. Pant Hospital on 26th March 1993 and on the very same day, the general body came together under the guidance of Chairman Dr N. P. Gupta. During that meeting, appointment of ad-hoc office bearers was also decreed- Dr Usha Gupta (AIIMS) President, Dr Anandita Mandal (GBPH) Secretary, Dr Vibha Talwar (UCMS) Joint Secretary, Dr S. Badrinath (LHMC) Treasurer and Dr J. C. Samantray (AIIMS) Scientific Secretary.

However, in 1996, with Dr D. S. Agarwal holding the illustrious position of President, the formerly nominated/elected executive members took over the reins from the ad-hoc committee. Thereafter, regular executive committees have been in place for the different periods of time. At present, the tenure of various committee members of IAMM Delhi Chapter includes that of the President as one year, Secretary as three years and Executive members as two years. The executives are generally nominated on rotation from the various institutes with efforts to award due representations from different institutes.